Neverwinter Beta Dates Announced

Cryptic announced beta dates this last week. It looks like this kitty will be in on March 8, assuming the data gets processed properly on Cryptic’s end, and I receive my key. I’m looking forward to writing some impressions of the game.

I’m really excited to see the toolset. I was thinking today about the zones that I made with the Neverwinter 2 tools. I still remember the little town, the waterfall that I made over the dam area, and the paths through the copper cliffs at sunset.

Per Neverwinter dev posts, the NDA situation is still under consideration. Also, the game is confirmed to launch with only 5 classes. This might be enough for a month or two, but they really need more than this.

I commented in a previous post about the strict divisions of races into factions in Elder Scrolls and how this might turn off players. D&D has a similar situation with the classes. D&D fans have favorite classes. The wizard class is represented by a “control wizard”. What does that mean? It sounds like I’ll have a limited subset of wizard skills/spells that I can use. To me this 4E (4th Edition) wizard isn’t a true wizard by 3E standards, nor will be the additional wizard classes added later to the game.

I don’t even want to think about the F2P situation. If I want to keep playing video games, then I need to find a way to cope with the constant, annoying sales pressure. I couldn’t even go to Target the week before last and buy chocolate without freaking out about the amount of manipulative crap on the price tag.

I walked out of the store without chocolate. I’m buying bulk now at the Farmer’s market, and I’m shopping at Walmart more. Walmart is a lot like World of Warcraft–lots of staple goods at reasonable prices all the time, with no nonsense.

I’ve actually been thinking about going back to WoW because it isn’t F2P, and it supports dual-boxing unlike SWTOR and GW2. I probably will at some point, but it’s hard to find the time right now to make one or two subscriptions worthwhile.

And so a big advantage of a Free-To-Play game rears its serpentine head immediately.

About Silverangel

https://kittykittyboomboom.wordpress.com/ View all posts by Silverangel

7 responses to “Neverwinter Beta Dates Announced

  • iamthetruthseeker

    “Cryptic announced beta dates this last week. It looks like this kitty will be in on March 8, assuming the data gets processed properly on Cryptic’s end, and I receive my key. ”

    If you’re referring to the Founders packs ordered online, you shouldn’t need a key last I checked! Stay tuned for more info on when you can download the client!

    “Mine is typically sorcerer or wizard, or an evil cleric. Two of those are not available, and the wizard class is represented by a “control wizard”. ”

    Just wanted to say you can play cleric, it’s just alignment and factions aren’t being enforced in game. If you want to play her “evil,” you sure may!

    If you don’t understand 4E, “Control Wizard” is a specified build, like “War Wizard” would focus on more offensive (attacking not rude 🙂 ) spells. This means you receive and later unlock spell powers for at will, encounter, and daily (actually they recharge around three combat encounters but the traditional 4e D&D name stuck,) powers. The powers damage and can “control” how the enemy is on the battlefield. Expect a lot of enemy held by the throat choking, pushing away, and knock-back options if the spell powers if not a simple (basic) damage spell. Also, I would highly recommend “chaining” spell combinations so you can do things like throw enemies or place them elsewhere by clever use of spell effects.

    There are ways to “update” some spells with the class’ tab feature like a “spell focus” if you will.

    Personally I fell in love with the Great Weapon fighter build class, even if (IMHO) it’s more like a Barbarian style. It still is awesome!

    “I couldn’t even go to Target the week before last and buy chocolate without freaking out about the amount of manipulative crap on the price tag.

    I walked out of the store without chocolate. I’m buying bulk now at the Farmer’s market, and I’m shopping at Walmart more. Walmart is a lot like World of Warcraft–lots of staple goods at reasonable prices all the time, with no nonsense.”

    And I won’t detail it here, but if you are conscientious on where you shop, please remember Walmart has a history of employee racism, sexism, low wages and HORRIBLE health and other benefits to the point of strikes and lawsuits. I refuse to shop there until I see these trends addressed without some mitigating action “solving” it. And do I need to remind people they get a lot of there stuff from places like China and even if you overlook the whole trade thing, a lot of stuff found carruied there by consumer reports was found to be unsafe?

    Nonsense is seen when one succeeds on their Perception Check.

    If you’re looking for better ingredients with Fair Trade, I’d recommend Trader Joe’s.

    And I’d like the Target Wizard and Fighter chocolate minis please 🙂

    • Jacquotte

      I was referring to Champions lifer. 🙂 If alignment and deity choice have no role, then that’s another thing with the cleric not being something classic that I’m familiar with. Same thing with wizard, which historically has access to all wizard spells, by definition. Clearly I need to re-learn D&D from 3E. Thanks for the additional clarification, Truthseeker.

      Great Weapon does look fun in videos. It’s also great that Neverwinter considers a crowd control role to be so important, because I like that role. When I played Champions, it wasn’t so much involved.

      At Walmart, I buy Amy’s Kitchen frozen (all natural and organic ingredients). I had a Marifano pizza for dinner (all natural ingedients from Italy). Post Great Grains cereals. Welch’s 100% grape juice is cheaper there than anywhere else. Sprite, Ramen, Milk, Eggs, waffles. I get all fruits, veggies, and bread at the Farmer’s Market for cheap, being close here in Arizona to both California and Mexico.

      I do understand Walmart is anti-LGBT, as I wrote about in a post on another blog. I can’t really afford to pay more at Trader Joe’s. I also have low wages and horrible health benefits. I applaud your stance though. Maybe someday I will have California wages. That would be like a dream for me.

      Target Wizard Minis wouldn’t be too bad either. :p

      • iamthetruthseeker

        (Don’t forget blacks, hispanics, jews, women…they got a BIG hurdle for me to leap for forgiveness at Wal-Mart. Logo changing ain’t cutting it. But I’ll end this topic as it’s inflammatory.)

        Ahh a lifer! Well, enjoy your free beta key time (whenever that ends up being) along with the STO people and all the rest!

        As for the edition between 3rd and NEXT:

        in 4e, all classes use powers now. The wizards’ powers are called “Spells” of course. Powers are grouped into: at-will, encounter, daily, utility (or in gaming acro-speak AEDU) Of course like all tabletop to computer, translations were done and the MMO 4e is more themed than literal rules in the tabletop. How well it works I shall leave you and the readers to make their own opinions.

        And a fellow (CA) broke person too…but TJ’s actually is pretty much in step with pricing competitiveness..compared to Krogers, Vons Albersons (your market chain or big store here.) I actually like Target’s pricing and selection too, but if you felt tricked from that chocolate “sale,” I hear ya. My favorite thing IS chocolate! Woe be it to those who [CENSORED] with my ambrosia!

  • Jacquotte

    I didn’t really feel tricked–I can see how much it costs. It’s just that the item is not really on sale. It’s marked up, then priced down on “sale”, and ends up being a bogus bunch of smoke and mirrors. It’s been proven that people fall for this–if it’s marked on sale they will think it’s a good deal. The local grocery chain here, Fry’s, does the same thing only the price swings are wider. The “limited time” is also bogus–Dove chocolate is on sale just about every month or so. And our local F2P MMOs do these same things, notably LotRO.

    Thanks again! 🙂 I’m going to find a new rulebook at the bookstore and leaf through it. Cheers, and hoping Neverwinter is a big success.

  • The Dancing Hare

    I think it’s already ended, but WoW just had a sale where you could get all the core + all expansions for $35. Really tempting if you’re looking to refer yourself and dual box some new characters!

Leave a Reply

