Defiance MMO

I’ve been a Trion fan since Rift, and was happy to see them take up Archeage publishing for NA (and EU I assume). Today (April 2, 2013) they are launching their second MMO, Defiance.

Defiance is linked to a TV show on the Sci-Fi cable channel, which is really interesting. I’m also intrigued because the show features three actresses I really like–Mia Kirshner from the L-Word, and Jaime Murray and Julie Benz, both featured in the unforgettable Dexter season 2, and who can forget the lesbian lovemaking between Jaime and Lucy Lawless in Spartacus: Gods of the Arena.

I’m not a big sci-fi fan, but I enjoyed the reboot of Battlestar Galactica, which featured similar themes of alien occupation and conflict. I was looking at Defiance on Steam and noticed a “Defiance Season Pass“. This is already on sale for 25% off and requires the base Defiance game on Steam for $59.99.

This extra pack is billed as the “ultimate content package for the true Ark Hunter. Players who want to save big on the first 5 DLC packs rolling out after launch.” The pack promises a new playable race, weapons, vehicles, an exclusive hat, and a lock box. Wow, a lock box too. Really?

So I can play Neverwinter for free and have to pay later for DLC, or I can pay $60 for Defiance and have to pay later for DLC. The kitty is often confused by complicated pricing schemes, but this seems like a pretty obvious decision. The promise of a train of DLC rolling out in Defiance after launch is not too thrilling given the traditional initial sticker price.

I’m stalled on Baldur’s Gate: Enhanced already after assembling my initial party of six and heading off to investigate trouble in the mines. I have too much other work right now for gaming. There is always trouble in the mines. I’ve never, ever seen a mine that was working properly.

About Silverangel

https://kittykittyboomboom.wordpress.com/ View all posts by Silverangel

Leave a Reply

