Elder Scrolls In Edit Mode

Massively reported today that Zenimax is restructuring their play flow in Elder Scrolls to skip players straight to their capital cities, where a more open world is found.

This is a startling good idea. Your arrival in Tamriel will have an immediate graphical awe factor, unless maybe if you’re Daggerfall, where I think the desert island is pretty in comparison.

I see “many updates to the UI” in the patch notes, but nothing alluding to an information-loaded interface that won’t implode my frontal lobe.

So how can Bethesda just let players skip a whole zone and not screw up the story? Well, when I said “disjointed story” in my beta impressions post, I could have said “the main/personal story is lost and missing almost completely from the entire first zone.”


Immersion WoW vs. Elder Scrolls Online


In the wake of the ESO beta, I took the below screenshot in WoW, which illustrates a lot of the immersion I missed in ESO. See the screenshot, which could be titled “a death knight and a panda walked into a bar.”

There’s my name for one thing (of a now-deleted DK), and my guild, and the names of other players. In ESO, no nameplates means other players are just bland, indistinguishable bodies on the landscape. I don’t know who they are, so they don’t register in my head.

There’s a trusty mailbox next to the panda in the image. In ESO, you get mail off of a game panel, which is fine in the world of consoles I guess, but it’s still another immersion fail.

In WoW you also have a “home” in the inn, instead of a glowing way shrine thing that doesn’t mean anything. Then there are gryphon-flights instead of teleports. I hated teleporting everywhere when it was instituted in Oblivion, and my opinion hasn’t changed on that.

The keep status at the top is immersive for me personally. Things are happening–conflicts and battles with the enemy not too far off. In ESO, these indicators would be anathema.

While I was watching Angry Joe’s ESO PvP video, I wondered how you’re supposed to know what’s going on in PvP. You can’t see the names of the other players, which means no color coding in red or other distinguishing faction allegiance colors.

And what about a personal vendetta against a specific creep who just mace-raped you? All the Argonians look the same to me with no nameplates. Maybe Zenimax will put nameplates back in the game and let players mod the UI to their liking.

Anyway. ESO isn’t overrated, but neither is it worth getting panty-twisted over. Enough writing for tonight. I’ll save an obligatory “what I’m doing now in WoW” post for some other time.

World of Warcraft Burning Crusade Inn

About Silverangel

https://kittykittyboomboom.wordpress.com/ View all posts by Silverangel

Leave a Reply

