Elf In Real Life: Intense Love In The Forest

newbie blogger initiative supporter image This month is the Newbie Blogger Initiative, a wonderful event that changed my love life forever.

Not really, but that’s newbie tip #1: try a catchy opening sentence. Video games are addictive, but love is one of the few things that males will still prefer over killing and pillaging.

After all, what’s the point of murder if not to save the princess, or accumulate wealth so you can buy her things?

Apparently I’m roleplaying a Drow elf today.

For more information on getting started as a game blogger, visit the grand daddy and patriarch of the NBI, Syp at the Biobreak blog.


Elf In Real Life: Weeks Three to Four


Two weeks ago, I found a dead bird in front of my door on Monday morning. Tuesday night, I was in the hospital with severe abdominal pains. As of now, the diagnosis is kidney stones and too much stress.

I only mention this in case no one believed my previous post that dead birds are a bad omen, or at least that magic is real.

I’m still feeling pain daily, which I hope is just stress. This reminds me that I’m old, mortal, and not really an elf, which is depressing. Maybe a dark fey put that bird by my door to teach me a lesson.

Last week I re-started Skyrim, but I quickly grew frustrated (again) with the interface and quit. I also tried to play Max Payne when my internet was out (due to my move).

Unfortunately, you have to be connected to the internet and logged into Rockstar social club to play a Rockstar game these days. To underscore its own failure, Rockstar’s product then crashed, and I had to alt-cntrl-delete to cure Rockstar’s failure to deliver the entertainment I paid for.

I can’t hate Rockstar more. Elves don’t hate.

Several years ago I had a peak experience of my life while walking through a forest. Many bits of forested land are attached to the White River as it twists through the urban landscape of Indianapolis (I live now in Arizona.)

These forests are a haven for trash and a home to the homeless, fornicators, nudists, predators, miscreants, and pedophiles. A few squirrels, birds, and rabbits also make their homes there. One particular bit of forest is blessed, sandwiched on all sides by respectable neighborhoods and a youth sports facility.

The forest was not clean of trash back then, however, and I resolved to clean all the trash out. It took five or six trips. Every time I hiked down the forest trail to the river, I carried out a bunch of junk.

One day, I decided I was done. It was my final trash trip, and the forest was fairly clean. On the way back, I felt an overwhelming wave of love pour over me, a love I’ve never felt before or since. It was pure energy, goodness, and well-being.

The love was so strong that it was incomprehensible to think such a thing could have come from within me, as if a chemical bliss. I interpreted the source to be an angel, the faeries, or some sort of spiritual forest guardian. It felt real, and I thanked that unknown entity for its beneficence.

I’m now trying to clean out my own trash to save my health. I’ve switched to watching comedies instead of one doomsday documentary after another about the food supply and the environment. This is one reason I never used my biology degree. It’s just too depressing.

I’m reading a book on Faerie Magic, and I picked up another Faerie book at the library. I have a lot of humble studying to do.

Faeries of course are of light and “dark” varieties. They don’t obey the concepts of good and evil as adopted by men. Even the good faeries are known to enslave humans and kidnap babies, not necessarily in that order.

I’ve been trying to be very good lately and deny my dark side, but that itself is considered by psychologists to be unhealthy. So the dark side is a difficult pickle.

I do not believe that humans are the end-all and be-all, the top of the food chain, the top dog in the universe. Something surely eats humans or sucks on their energy, an act which the humans would consider evil.

The human concept of good and evil must therefore be fundamentally flawed. The good is only what is good for them. We preach peace, love, and compassion, and then we take a tasty bite of our beef or pork sandwich.

The humans forget that they themselves are out of balance, like locusts eating all other living creatures while ruining and polluting the natural planet , so they are just like the fey or a lot of field mice, and the human good is really a self-centered illusion.

This week, I’ve gone back to my vampire novel manuscript. After a couple years hiatus, I think I have an acceptable ending. As far as gaming, I still might sneak back to LotRO again. Thanks for reading my blog, blessed be, and happy gaming.

About Silverangel

https://kittykittyboomboom.wordpress.com/ View all posts by Silverangel

4 responses to “Elf In Real Life: Intense Love In The Forest

  • commenter formerly called wumpus

    Ouch! Be careful of those kidney stones 😦

    Was the interface that bad in Skyrim? I don’t recall even modding it out (I know I did for Oblivion). It just seemed a bit limited, and was time to move on. As far as DRM: you ignore Richard Stallman’s wisdom at your peril. Having games may seem nice, but always remember what you are giving up so that you can play a game.

    On forestry, I think I got 2/3s of your trees and all of your logos last post. I think that is why the other ents (there are other ents? I think they found the entwives and I have lost them as well) have shunned me. That or PR/marketing types are worth their pay, but I’d rather go with the ents…

    On “merely human” goodness and those above and below. Humans have had enough trouble over the years merely being good to one another, and you ask for more? It is often said that the measure of morality is in how you treat those below you, certainly that applies for other species as well. As far as how we treat those “above” (whether or not on the food chain), I’ve seen enough organized religion that I don’t want to see how groups of humans deal with such beings. If they act like this on the mere idea of such creatures, how would they deal when they actually meet them?

    On LOTRO/games: Middle Earth is a great place, even when interpreted by Turbine. Not so sure about the LOTRO game, but it has hope. I popped over to DDO to look around, ran into both client and server crashing after an update, might not be back for awhile. Found a sale on Kerbal Space Program (a program in beta for a year, probably with another year left to go). Not just rocket science, *mad* rocket science. I love it.

    PS. I hadn’t realized you were an old school elf. Maybe that is why all the commenters are scared away. Elves don’t hate: they just set you on fire to see what colors the flames will be.

  • Silverangel

    Hello again, mr. commenter. You think LotRO has hope? Sure, I wouldn’t be surprised if it limped along for few more years, but I can’t imagine hope at the moment. There are so many things wrong with the game at this point, and they keep putting good money after bad (continuing forward with big battles, developing them and planning to do more in the future, and no revamp of legendary weapons, which Wildstar is actually doing, and seem to be doing RIGHT, unbelievably–you can do great deeds and advance your weapon’s legacy that way.)

    Elves are such a big topic, and there are so many elves. It’s hard to really discuss elves in a short blog post.

    We do have humans exalting other beings as above them: cult leaders, self-appointed gurus in India or somewhere who own 50 Rolls Royces to drive around in, etc.. So yes, I do hope the aliens show up because it would be so fascinating to see what happens. Maybe they are here but they are just in a different wavelength so they are invisible, except when a ship drops out of phase momentarily to beam some people into it, I guess. A bunch of people saw a gigantic spacecraft in Texas a few years ago.

    KSP looks interesting. I picked up Star Wars:Jedi Academy on Steam to play last weekend, but space isn’t my fave. Just really don’t like the Skyrim lack of interface. It’s so awkward. It’s a console game.

  • commenter formerly called wumpus

    Er, my hopes for Middle Earth involve leveling that takes slightly more awareness than facerolling. It wouldn’t be Middle Earth if it had real hope.

    KSP right now is an exercise in UI frustration. Struts tend not to appear, and clicking on anything makes it likely that it will simply rip apart your spacecraft (hope you saved, ctrl-z only sometimes works). Letting it develop some more might be better than starting now.

  • Silverangel

    The last patch apparently bumped up the difficulty a little, but not much: http://lotrocommunity.com/forum/topic/2946-has-the-game-become-more-challenging/

    I started a new Warden last weekend, but I don’t know how far I’ll get with her. As long as there are elves, there is hope! :p

Leave a Reply

