Nightmare Tide: Toes In The Water

rift nightmare tide screenshot beta This was a memorable week with two highlights: a Nightmare Tide beta key courtesy of Khellendross on his livestream, and KKBB was linked and quoted on Massively.

Last month I saw TAGN linked on Massively, and I thought–wow! That’s when you know you’re a big time, well-known MMO blogger. You’re quoted on Massively.

Well, for one week KKBB stood furry ear-to-ear with TAGN and KTR, and I would like to thank Justin Olivetti (Biobreak) for that.

So the visits to KKBB spiked for a couple days and went back to baseline, leaving in their wake a minor heightened terror of saying stupid things. At least I have a beta key and good screens meow, like this beautiful screenshot of a huge shark and little air bubbles in Goboro Reef.


Rift: Nightmare Tide Beta Pre-Impressions


I have things to say, but it’s too soon. The new expansion is super-colorful, which is super-good. I’ve criticized the Rift color palette on this blog, and this time around the artists are unleashing the color. So far it looks great.

There is a fair amount of intentional mermaid half-nudity. All mermaids are female apparently, otherwise they wouldn’t be “maids”. Surely there are mer-men with glorious pectorals somewhere though.

According to the official lore linked above, the particular mermaid we met in the Ember Isle prologue piece is returning, which is good news for a good, memorable character. You can meet Arethea and hear her singing on Youtube. The chat is just visible, allowing a glimpse into the expansion lore.

Arethea can surely attract a handsome mer-man with her song. Unless the mer-men disappeared like the Ent-wives, lured to their doom by an evil octopus sorceress with less Disney-fied priorities in life. I doubt it.

I asked Khellendross on his stream whether he thought the Nightmare Tide expansion was ready for release, and he didn’t seem sure. I’m not sure either. Supposedly the devs are working well ahead of the state of the beta.

For example, the official Minions livestream showed numerous issues, which have since been fixed. We know this because the Rift devs are so awesome with communicating. So we’ll see.

Nightmare Tide is wedged uncomfortably between the releases of Archeage and Warlords Of Draenor right now. (I’ll never give Warlords the acronym of WoD, which rightfully belongs to World of Darkness. This still makes the kitty’s blood curdle.)


Archeage


The tide of public opinion seems to be turning in favor of Archeage. I’m thrilled for Trion. I hope they have a huge hit on their hands.

I watched some low-level dungeon gameplay from AyinMaiden on Youtube, which is the first time I’ve seen anything in Archeage that really grabbed me and made me want to play.

The fighting looks fun, actiony yet with familiar tab targeting that this kitty prefers. I’m not so sure that resource squirreling for trees and carrots will appeal to the kitty long term, or losing everything in PvP.

I saw some pirates wipe out a livestreamer last night through the open-world PvP. It was fun to watch, but he and his crew were not happy campers. So it’s probably a bad idea to livestream a dangerous resource transport. Noted.

The Rift forums are really dead right now, and surely Trion is cannabalizing some of its players. Can Trion offer an all-access subscription through Glyph? Or does F2P even lend itself well to that?

I’d be much more likely to go play Archeage if my Rift sub transferred, and thereby stay subbed to Trion on a long term basis.

Trion is the only MMO developer this year that landed a tactical shot to Blizzard with its timing. Blizzard is normally the aggressor, taking aim at ESO by announcing pre-orders right before ESO’s launch, and then announcing beta right before Wildstar, like a bully walking into a debutante party and waving around a giant penis.

Regardless of what happens, I’m cheering for Scott Hartsman and Trion. I hope everything turns out well for them in the end.


Personal


In personal news, in addition to exploring the Rift beta, I’ve slogged on with my rogue using an Assassin build, which is better than Ranger in return for more effort. It’s one of the top DPS builds in the game.

So I went from level 52 to level 58 in just one week. As of my last post, I’d given up leveling my rogue at 52, and made her an Assassin just to hunt artifacts. The ‘sin turned out so well that I went back to leveling. She brings back fond memories of my old hobbit burglar.

My rogue is still an artie hunter, but I really need the faster 150% horse available at level 60. Thanks for reading, and happy Rifting or Arching or whatever you’re up to.

About Silverangel

https://kittykittyboomboom.wordpress.com/ View all posts by Silverangel

2 responses to “Nightmare Tide: Toes In The Water

  • Wilhelm Arcturus

    Congrats on getting linked at Massively. They used to do that quite a bit way back when, especially when Michael Zenke was running the show. Then there was a long stretch when they pretty much pretended that blogs did not exist. Now they seem to be wandering back into the community with a few links now and again.

    • Silverangel

      Thanks, Wilhelm. 🙂 It’s nice Massively is doing that. I seem have a shortage of reading, as evidenced by the links in my sidebar. A lot of blogs I visit, for example from Biobreak’s list, rarely post or haven’t written anything in months. Others don’t interest me. I like your mix of researched articles and storytelling.

Leave a Reply

