Weekly Wyrm ~ Oct. 11, 2014

turtle earrings for rift nightmare tideThe positive highlight of the week was purchasing my traditional expansion-themed earrings for Rift. They’re little gold turtles. I made my own earrings for Rohan and Gondor, but they didn’t hold up due to materials issues.

The negative highlight of the week was being called a “nigga bitch” in Rift. I won’t wallow in filth by speculating etymologically what this is supposed to mean. I was playing my rogue, stealing Unstable Artifacts from the big meany Seastonians (the U.S. PvP server).


Artifact Mining On A PvP Server


Eve Online has a similar gameplay scenario with high sec and low sec. Whenever an Unstable Artifact zone event hits Seastone on the cluster-wide event tracker, it’s an opportunity to reap richer rewards for increased risk.

On average I was dying once or twice per event as of last week. This week I adopted a strategy of riding to a safer hunting location before shard hopping, and also going only with my rogue. My mage is a puny stick of 2-shot goo to a well-geared murder machine.

The payoff for my artifact hunting has been 1.5k plat earned in the last few weeks, mainly from a 450 plat Freemarch epic unstable artifact. I’ve invested most of that back into Dreamweaving, and now I can convert arties into dream cloth for even more coin.

So speaking of investing.


THE BEARS = WINNING


This week the 3-year bull market in U.S. securities finally ran out of steam. There’s just no place for them to go with the interest rate increases looming, Europe threatening a recession with decreased oil consumption, and weak earnings being reported by Intel, Samsung, and others partly due to low sales in China.

Not to mention multiple wars and Ebola.

For three years, this kitty has been rooing the days (i.e. jumping up and down with anxiety) when she was hunkered in a cabin writing novels four or five years ago instead of catching the bull market and getting rich. Well, the wait is finally over. It’s bear time.

No, this section isn’t about football.

In other bear news, LotRO’s Beorning class has hit the live servers, and screens are appearing of tough tattooed bear women. I love this.

For years, including in my newbie guide to LotRO, I’ve been lobbying for a native-type race with facial tattoos, and Turbine is doing it.

The LotRO Community boys seem to be making fun of how ugly she is, but Turbine deserves kudos for implementing realistic female figures, much like Blizzard’s healthy femme-panda forms.


Wasteland 2


Wasteland 2 has finally released, the new retro RPG from Brian Fargo, Mike Stackpole, Liz Danforth and the like. I like what I’m seeing on the Youtube videos and the reviews.

Stackpole and Liz Danforth are venerable Tunnels and Trolls developers, and I’ll be pressing the buy button and happily handing them money for this amazing effort. The soundtrack by Mark Morgan, the original Fallout and Planescape Torment composer, is also worth checking out.

I can’t explain why I’m not more excited about Dragon Age 3, which releases in November. Wasteland 2 seems more like an open story where I can make my own roleplay characters. Dragon Age 2 felt like playing a character in a movie, and it got old.

The only reservation I have about Wasteland 2 is that the endgame looks like fighting against robots, which I really didn’t like in the Fallout games. It’s the same formula over again. Robots just aren’t good “bad guys” from a fiction perspective, in general. Terminator had Arnold. I doubt if this game has Arnold.

Until next time, happy gaming! Thanks for reading KKBB.

About Silverangel

https://kittykittyboomboom.wordpress.com/ View all posts by Silverangel

2 responses to “Weekly Wyrm ~ Oct. 11, 2014

  • Rita

    Generalizations don’t really serve very well…..your opinion might be that California is the center of all Narcissism but Ms. Nocket is from a relatively small town New York State. Perhaps that might encourage you to be a little more careful

    • Silverangel

      Yes, I know where Nocket is from. I said “another” instead of “a”, meaning to imply a different group. I’ve changed it to “a” for clarity. Speaking of careful, you’ve commented in an unrelated post. Thanks for the note.

Leave a Reply

