Weekly Wyrm: Happy New Year: 2015

Even though daily visits are steadily decreasing, this was a good year for Kitty Kitty Boom Boom. Per the 2014 WordPress annual report:

Madison Square Garden can seat 20,000 people for a concert. This blog was viewed about 67,000 times in 2014. If it were a concert at Madison Square Garden, it would take about 3 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.

Thanks to everyone who visited and commented. Thanks also to a couple super-bloggers who are linking this blog. By far the most popular post is still Basic Newbie Guide To Playing Rift.

So it’s fitting that I finished the year playing Rift. After a hiccup transitioning from the Gaboro Reef zone into Draumheim, and then completely burning out on art and fiction writing over this last weekend, I pushed through this week and hit 65.

I’ve also capped some crafts, and I’ve cobbled together the hit score I need to start running expert dungeons. Nightmare Tide has turned into a great expansion. There is just so much to do, and so much quirky fun.

I thought Nightmare Tide would be like LotRO’s Mirkwood expansion: a smaller followup to their first grand expansion attempt. Except for the disjointed main story line (or lack thereof, preferring more episodic local narrative), Nightmare Tide is better.  It’s just in the next generation: robust housing, minions, grouping events, complex gearing, playstyle weeklies, faction dailies, instant adventures, chronicles, etc.

I hope this means great things for Rift’s future. I ponied up my share of funds in this last year, almost as much as I spent on my LotRO lifetime sub.  So Trion’s tricks and traps are working well for them.

Tonight I fiddled with my pirate-themed dimension, since my erstwhile minions are hauling in staircases and marble blocks and things. My favorite is my new Draumheim lamp! Here’s the lamp, along with a few other screenshots.

These screenshots are from my last 24 hours of playing, doing different activities. Long live Rift.


Rift Screenshots 2014


My old character selfie was from right after launch, so here’s an update for Leonore. This is in the crafting center of Choreburg, city of Draumheim.

rift mmo selfie leonore screenshot

This is a really cool outfit theme of a guy at a pickup Nightmare Rift raid tonight. His ranger beast companion is a raptor thing. This raid was on the landscape: just giddyup and join in. Rift’s outfits have steadily gotten quirkier and more diversified.

rift screenshot indian outfit

Artifact hunting sent me climbing mountains of coral in Goboro Reef, which is the most multi-leveled and challenging gathering location ever, but rewarding. I ended up on a spiny spire over the Atragarian Well.

rift screenshot mmo goboro reef

And my new lamp! It’s a beauty, but it doesn’t fit into my rustic Ethian huts. I s’pose I could build a palace in my spare time, among all of my other grand goals in life.

rift screenshot draumheim lamp dimension

I’ve spent the most time grinding zone invasions for sparkles, a Yule event quest that will award a T1 gear piece. As I mentioned in my last post, these events pull in multiple cross-shard pickup raids thanks to Rift’s at-will shard-hopping system. Here is a boss in Tarken Glacier. He’s a little overwhelmed.

rift mmo screenshot zone invasion

That’s all. Thanks for reading, and happy holidays.

About Silverangel

https://kittykittyboomboom.wordpress.com/ View all posts by Silverangel

Leave a Reply

