Torment: Tides

torment: tides of numenera

Brian Fargo tweeted a short while ago that early access for Torment: Tides of Numenera beta backers will be available tomorrow. I suddenly wish I was one of those people!

Maybe I should start beta backing, especially when Brian Fargo and Shanna Germain are involved. Shanna is the bona fide award-winning erotica writer on the Torment project.

The image small print says “coming to Steam 1/26/2016“, but I don’t find anything on Steam right now. This kitty is confused as usual. I bought a small solitaire game called “Quill tonight instead, which involves letter-writing in a medieval setting.

It looks like a very interesting study in game design.

Quill requires six-sided dice though, and I possess no solemn equipage of antique, romantic hexahedrons. The digital download didn’t come with a game box of course, so.

I’m off tomorrow night to pay real money at the game shop for a bag of six-sided dice, I suppose. Back in the days, I could find six-sided dice hiding on the floor of grandma’s game closet, or in the Yahtzee box. Not so anymore.

The good news is that I’ve created a Drivethru account, and after I purchase six-sided dice, I can finally use my Tunnels and Trolls rulebook. Drivethru also offers T&T adventures. We’ll see.


Game-Related Stocks


This week is another tide of torment in the stock market. Clearly by the time I decided to pool my resources and invest in the stock market (last year), the markets of the entire world were on the brink of collapsing and dying in a fire.

Yesterday a tweet mentioned that the Vanguard (mutual fund) website was turning away customers due to no available representatives. Last night the evening news mentioned that you, yes you, lost $7000+ so far this year if you own an average 401k.

Tonight they featured the same report, but the pain number was more like 8k.

Today the market entered mom and pop half-panic mode, however, and big money stepped in to create a massive turn up. Time will tell whether it will be enough, but consensus on CNBC is clearly that the bottom can’t be in due to China, oil, and currency, and five other things.

So far I’m still holding my original Blizzard and Alibaba, and I’ve pushed 50% back into Microsoft and Electronic Arts. That’s all. I’m cheering every day for the markets to self-destruct as much as possible, honestly, so I can buy.

Today Alibaba announced a big deal with NVidia to build out its cloud, including a second data center on the U.S. west coast. That’s good news for NVidia.

On another scary down day today, Nvidia and Microsoft ended in the green and were the strongest-performing tech stocks I follow, except for Twitter.


Personal RPG Project


Last week I had my final kidney stone surgery, I hope. I survived. I’m no longer sustaining constant pain and blood loss. I’m starting to feel more energized.

I upgraded my animation code to more object-oriented code. I re-worked file structure to accommodate a longer-term vision of modular expansion. Mostly I’m working on more art and scenes.

I really need to firm up my campaign setting.

Like a novice writer/adventure designer, my cat brain has been scattered all over the place with elves, pirates, vampires, Mayans, Greek monsters, and an embarrassing mish-mash of poorly considered architectural styles.

So I need a strong, consistent, sensible, constrained setting. I need a consistent political structure, social expectations, and a thoughtful style of architecture, constructed with logical local materials, in my case forest, sea sand, and volcanic stone.

Those sorts of things.

Tonight I started reading the Oxford Book of Ballads at Project Gutenberg. Just the first short ballad, Thomas the Rhymer, is completely intense. The fairies seem really right to me, especially since my game is mostly an English-speaking educational game.

I was thinking and pacing all day on how I don’t want to be a stupid human tourist, a user of mythology for entertainment or self-serving spiritual narcissism. I needed to make a serious commitment, a reverence to one magical faction, and I hope that faction is the elves and fairies of Brittania.

Maybe I can have just one vampire, and just one pirate? I wanted my pirate to be a rabbit wearing a waistcoat, though! I think I need to do my due diligence and read more fairy and elf lore, and then maybe things will fall better into place.

As always, blessed be and happy gaming.

About Silverangel

https://kittykittyboomboom.wordpress.com/ View all posts by Silverangel

Leave a Reply

