You Ruins It: The Changing MMO Landscape

There is an unusually interesting thread over at MMORPG.com titled “Anyone else not excited for any MMO?“.

This has been an ongoing problem for me too. For example, the bit about “So I think even if there is some magical MMO that comes out and finally delivers the promise on what the early MMO genre was suggesting, I’m always going to be looking over my shoulder waiting for them to ruin it.”

There is a definite factor of growing distrust in the relationships between MMO fans and developers.

I am thinking about playing Elder Scrolls Online at launch, the first launch I will have played since Rift, FFXIV, and Champions. A big part of that is the subscription model, and a big flaw of that incentive is the fact that they can change the game later into something I don’t want.

The fact that it’s a console MMO is like unloading a second shotgun barrel on my pretty passel of hope balloons.

I’ve been wondering if we gamers can agree on a verbiage for pre-F2P and post-F2P game experiences. For example, “Vanilla WoW” can be used in a few different ways, but it normally means World of Warcraft level 1-50 before the first expansion. So what about pre-F2P and post-F2P?

Do we need to repurpose the meaning of “vanilla”, or talk about “the subscription game” as a separate experience, like an old neighborhood the way it was before they built the mega-mall on the corner?

I still wish LotRO offered a completely separate no-F2P-store-ever-anywhere-in-my-game subscription-only server.

Rift already seems a little bogged by the Rift Store focus. They were selling the Hellbug mounts while they were still the rage, and lately squirrel mounts have been the must-have furry friend. We’re hardly into the squirrel life cycle and now huge mech mounts are the cool thing, much to the consternation of the more conservative and modest members of Rift society.

I would like to join the distaste for mechs in a fantasy MMO, but the fact is that it’s a planes-based setting, so by definition almost anything goes. I still wish the designers could rein in a little and stick with steampunk/magitech instead of robots and laser rifles or whatever.

With that said, here is my Tumblr cosplay pic of the week, steampunk Lara Croft by Meagan Marie, courtesy of CosplayBlog.

Dual pistols were probably my favorite weapons in both Guild Wars 2 (rogue) and Champions Online. I love my dual pistols, but I might have been a cliché without even realizing.

Lara Croft cosplay image

About Silverangel

https://kittykittyboomboom.wordpress.com/ View all posts by Silverangel

2 responses to “You Ruins It: The Changing MMO Landscape

Leave a Reply

